University of Otago Scholarships and Prizes Committee

University of Otago Scholarships and Prizes Committee

The Scholarships and Prizes Committee is a sub-committee of Senate, with oversight of University scholarships and Prizes.

Terms of Reference

  • To provide leadership and strategic advice on matters related to scholarships and prizes;
  • To submit such recommendations as it deems necessary to the Senate on policy and rules relating to the award of scholarships and prizes in the University, including proposals for new or amended scholarships and prizes;
  • To approve the award of University scholarships and prizes as delegated;
  • To recommend the award of other such scholarships and prizes as may be entrusted to it;
  • To provide oversight of the scholarship and prize programmes at the University of Otago, including monitoring of the allocation of funds;
  • To monitor candidates awarded University of Otago scholarships and grant approvals or make other decisions as are permitted by the regulations for such scholarships;
  • To select candidates for nomination for national external scholarships;
  • To report an annual list of scholarships and prizes to Senate;
  • To delegate its functions as appropriate.
See also  Saaberie Chishty Society Bursary South Africa 2023 – 2024


Name Role Extn. Email
Professor Richard Blaikie (Convenor) DVC (Research and Enterprise) 8513
Professor Vernon Squire DVC (Academic) 8303
Professor Helen Nicholson DVC (External Engagement) 5295
Professor Robin Gauld PVC, Division of Commerce and Dean Otago Business School 8632
Professor  Paul Brunton PVC, Division of Health Sciences 7413
Professor Tony Ballantyne PVC, Division of Humanities 8672
Professor Richard Barker PVC, Division of Sciences 7756

In Attendance

Professor Rachel Spronken-Smith Dean, Graduate Research School 5655
Robin Quigg Manager, Undergraduate Entrance Scholarships, 
Division of External Engagement
Peter Boston Manager Postgraduate Scholarships, Prizes and Awards
Graduate Research School
See also  University of Otagouni Ordinary Bachelor's Degree


The University of Otago’s representative on the Universities New Zealand Scholarships Committee is Professor Jacinta Ruru.

Meeting Dates

The Scholarships Committee normally meets three times per year, as required.

See Also: University of Otago Admissions