Does NSFAS Fund You If You Fail Three Modules

Does NSFAS Fund You If You Fail Three Modules

Does NSFAS Fund You If You Fail Three Modules | Students who receive funding from NSFAS have to maintain their funding status by making sure they pass all their modules. However, the bursary scheme does have exceptions in place that allow second chances for students.

The National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) is a government student bursary scheme that provides financial aid to students who want to pursue higher education but are unable to afford it on their own.

NSFAS offers bursaries to qualifying students who plan on studying at one of South Africa’s 26 public universities and/or 50 TVET colleges.

Qualifying students will have certain fees covered, such as their tuition, accommodation, and transport fees, as well as other expenses such as groceries, which will be received in the form of allowances.

NSFAS funds students depending on the duration of their course or degree.

See also  How Do You Check If NSFAS Has Funded You?

So will they fund failed courses? The answer is yes, they will.

According to the NSFAS policy agreement, students must pass at least 50% of their modules as well as meet the academic requirements of their institution in order to continue receiving financial aid during the course of their study period.

This means you will be given another opportunity to redo those failed modules, granted you passed 50% of the total modules you were registered for.

Students are granted one year extra of funding should they fail a year in their course. This is according to the N+1 rule which NSFAS currently has in place.

It is important to further note, that the N+ rule is not based on the number of years that a student has been funded, but on the number of years that the student has been registered for tertiary study at any public university in South Africa.

See also  How Does Nsfas Pay Registration Fee

Visit the NSFAS website for more information on this bursary.

Highly Recommended