List of Universities in Malawi

List of Universities in Malawi

Public universities

There are four public universities in Malawi namely:

  1. Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  2. Malawi University of Science and Technology
  3. Mzuzu University and
  4. University of Malawi has the following constituent colleges:
  • Chancellor College
  • College of Medicine
  • Kamuzu College of Nursing
  • The Polytechnic

Private universities

  • Africa University of Guidance, Counselling and Youth Development
  • African Bible College University
  • Blantyre International University
  • Catholic University of Malawi
  • Central Christian University
  • Columbia Commonwealth University/Malawi
  • Daeyang University
  • DMI – St John the Baptist University[2]
  • Exploits University
  • Malawi Adventist University
  • Millennium University
  • Malawi Assemblies of God University
  • Nkhoma University
  • Pentecostal Life University
  • ShareWORLD Open University
  • Skyway University
  • St. John of God College of Health Sciences
  • Unicaf University
  • University of Livingstonia
  • Riverton University
  • Lake Malawi University


Agricultural and Veterinary

  • Mikolongwe College of Veterinary Science
  • Mwimba College of Agriculture

Nursing and Health Sciences

  • Ekwendeni College of Nursing
  • Holy Family College of Nursing
  • Malamulo College of Health Sciences
  • Malawi College of Health Sciences
  • Mulanje Mission College of Nursing
  • St Johns Nursing School
  • St Johns College of Nursing
  • St Luke College of Nursing
  • Trinity College of Nursing
See also  Botswana Institute of Chartered Accountants Mission

Teachers Training

  • DAPP Amalika Teachers Training School
  • DAPP Dowa Teachers Training School
  • DAPP Chilangoma Teachers Training College
  • Domasi College of Education
  • Emmanuel Teacher Training School
  • Lilongwe Teachers Training School
  • Machinga Teachers Training College
  • Nalikule Teachers Training School

Technical Training

  • Andiamo Technical College
  • Don Bosco Youth Technical Institute
  • Lilongwe Technical College
  • Mzuzu Technical College
  • Nasawa Technical College
  • Salima Technical College
  • Soche Technical College


  • Malawi College of Accountancy
  • National College of Information and Technology
  • Malawi Institute of Journalism

Additional information

Soche Technical College formerly known as the Artisan training Centre is the oldest government Technical Institution in Malawi. Sochi Technical college was established in 1956 after the Legislative council for the government passed a bill to initiative Technical education. Currently located in the commercial centre of Blantyre, the College can boast of four departments namely; Commercial, Construction, Automobile Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. The program range offered at the college; Automobile engineering, Banking, Welding and Fabrication, Business Management, Upholstery, Financial Accounting, Textile & Pattern design, Community Development, Electrical Installations, Painting & Decorating, Plumbing, Electrical Installation, General Fitting, Wood machining, Refrigeration, Electrical, and Electronic Engineering etc.

See also  Botho University Botswana Application Portal

Lilongwe Teachers has four departments namely, Commercial, Automobile, Construction, and Engineering. Awards both Certificates and Diplomas. The college currently has a student population of 3749 made up of 2143 male students and 1605 female students.